Athletics News

Stanford's Annika Dries & Pacific's Balazs Erdelyi Win 2014 Cutino Award

Annika Dries joined Balazs Erdelyi as 2014 recipients of the Cutino Award

June 2, 2014

San Francisco, CA - June 2 - Stanford's Annika Dries and Pacific's Balazs Erdelyi were selected as the 2014 Cutino Award recipients this past weekend at The Olympic Club in San Francisco, CA. The award, which honors the top college player in men's and women's water polo, was given to Dries previously in 2011 and Erdelyi in 2013. More information is available below on the standout season had by each athlete. 

Annika Dries - From

Stanford two-meter Annika Dries was named the 2014 recipient of the Peter J. Cutino Award by The Olympic Club of San Francisco at the 15th annual Cutino Award Dinner Saturday night.

Saturday night’s announcement marks the second time that Dries has been named the Cutino Award winner as the nation’s top collegiate women’s water polo player, as the Stanford senior and captain previously took home the honor in 2011. Dries also becomes just the second woman to claim the honor twice, joining USC’s Kami Craig, who won the award in 2009 and 2010.

Stanford players have now claimed the past four Cutino Awards, and Dries’ honor is the sixth overall earned by a Cardinal player. The two-time selection joins Melissa Seidemann (2013), Kiley Neushul (2012), Jackie Frank (2003), and Brenda Villa (2002) on Stanford women’s water polo’s all-time roll call of winners.

The award caps a dominant 2014 season for Dries, who helped lead Stanford to a 25-1 overall record and the program’s fourth NCAA title, and third over the past four years. The Laguna Beach native scored 48 goals, third-most on the team, and was named Most Valuable Player of both the MPSF Championship and the National Collegiate Championship while also claiming a spot on the All-MPSF First Team.

Besides being one of the Cardinal’s top scoring threats, Dries cemented herself as the top interior player in the country this season. On the defensive end of the pool she was a lockdown defender at the two-meter spot, helping the Cardinal defense post a goals-against average of just 5.81. Her unmatched two-way play was on display at the National Collegiate Championship in May, as she scored a team-high eight goals, including a hat trick in Stanford’s 9-5 title-game win over UCLA, while providing stifling defense inside culminating in the Cardinal holding the Bruins scoreless over the second half.

Teammate Maggie Steffens and UCLA goalie Sami Hill were the other two finalists for the award Saturday night.

Balazs Erdelyi - From

Pacific senior Balazs Erdelyi was named the winner of the Peter J. Cutino Award Saturday night at the Olympic Club of San Francisco. Erdelyi is the fourth player to win men's water polo's national play of the year in back-to-back seasons.

The American Water Polo Coaches Association Player of the Year, Erdelyi led the Tigers to their best season in program history in 2013, as Pacific went 23-5 with the MPSF regular season title and the program's second-ever NCAA berth. The Tigers advanced to the NCAA Championship game before falling to six-time champion USC in overtime.

With a modern-era record of seven goals in the NCAA title game, Erdelyi was named Most Valuable Player of the 2013 NCAA Collegiate Men's Water Polo Championship. Erdelyi's seven goals in the final are the most since the two-point line was removed. He also became the fourth player to win solo MVP honors while bringing home the second place trophy.

Erdelyi set Pacific's single-season record for goals with 96, a mark which was third best in MPSF history. His 3.43 goals per game led the MPSF in scoring.

He scored in each of the final 78 games of his collegiate career, dating back to season opener of his sophomore campaign. He finished with 287 career goals, second all-time in Pacific history.

Erdelyi won the Peter J. Cutino Award over finalists Kostas Genidounias and Nikola Vavic, both of USC. The last repeat winner of the Cutino was J. W. Krumpholz of USC, at the 2009 and 2010 ceremonies. Tony Azevedo of Stanford (2002-2005) and UCLA's Sean Kern (2000-01) are the other repeat winners.




Follow us!


USA Water Polo - 2124 Main Street, Suite 240 Huntington Beach, CA 92648 - 714.500.5445. -
Back to top