Athletics News

2018 NCAA Women's Water Polo Championship Bracket Announced

May 1, 2018 Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS —The NCAA Women’s Water Polo Committee has announced the 10 teams that will be vying for the 2018 National Collegiate Women’s Water Polo Championship. Six teams have been placed in the bracket; the remaining four teams will compete for the last two berths in the bracket via two opening-round games.

The opening-round games will be conducted Tuesday, May 8 at the Uytengsu Aquatics Center on the campus of the University of Southern California. The winners will advance to the championship, which will be held May 11-13 also at the Uytengsu Aquatics Center. The 2018 championship will be an eight-team, single-elimination tournament (seven games).

In the opening round games, UC San Diego (24-11) will play Wagner (24-6). The winner will be placed in the championship bracket to play Southern California (23-1) in Game 1. In the other opening round game, UC Irvine (14-13) will play Pomona-Pitzer (21-10), with the winner advancing to the championship bracket to play Stanford (18-3) in Game 3.

Rounding out the bracket will be UCLA (22-7) facing Pacific (18-7) in Game 2 and California (19-5) competing against Michigan (32-8) in Game 4. Please reference the championship bracket for all game times.

All games May 11-13 will be streamed LIVE at

No. 1 Southern California - MPSF automatic bid
No. 2 Stanford - At-large qualifier
No. 3 California - At-large qualifier
No. 4 UCLA - At-large qualifier
UC Irvine - Big West automatic bid
UC San Diego - WWPA automatic bid
Wagner - MAAC automatic bid
Pacific - Golden Coast Conference automatic bid
Pomona-Pitzer - SCIAC automatic bid
Michigan - CWPA automatic bid

Automatic qualifiers were awarded to the Big West Conference (UC Irvine), Collegiate Water Polo Association (Michigan), Golden Coast Conference (Pacific), Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (Wagner), Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (Southern California), Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (Pomona-Pitzer) and the Western Water Polo Association (UC San Diego). The remaining three teams were selected at large without geographical restrictions.

For more information about the National Collegiate Women’s Water Polo Championship and the 2018 championship bracket, log on to

NCAA Championship Schedule (all times pst)
Play-In Games (MAY 8)
4:30 p.m. — Pomona-Pitzer vs. UC Irvine
7 p.m. — UC San Diego vs. Wagner

12 p.m. — Game 1: [1] USC vs. UC San Diego/Wagner winner
1:45 p.m. — Game 2: [4] UCLA vs. Pacific
3:30 p.m. — Game 3: [2] Stanford vs. Pomona-Pitzer/UC Irvine winner
5:15 p.m. — Game 4: [3] California vs. Michigan

3 p.m. — Game 1 & 2 winners
5 p.m. — Game 3 & 4 winners

3 p.m. — Semifinal winners



Follow us!


USA Water Polo - 2124 Main Street, Suite 240 Huntington Beach, CA 92648 - 714.500.5445. -
Back to top